top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKeeper

Celebrity Status

I was sitting next to a couple at a church function recently whom I had not met before. We were chatting over dinner and it turns out they were from Buffalo, NY. They had moved to DC from Buffalo in the last few years since their daughter was here and they didn't have any parents back in Buffalo. We enjoyed comparing the difference between C/WNY and the DC area.


The husband, David, was an architect and I thought he might enjoy hearing about my lighthouse. With my trusty friend, Kathy, nugging me on, I mentioned that I owned a lighthouse. They were, indeed, interested and starting asking questions. The wife, Katie, then mentioned that she "saw this story on the Today Show about people buying lighthouses and renovating them and there was a woman on the show who had done that."


"Yes, I said, "That was me." Her face goes blank and she blurts out, "No! That was not you." "Yes, I said, "It was me." "NO, NO, NO..." Katie continued. "Look me in the eye right now and tell me the truth," she says. I looked her in the eye and said, "Yes, it was me. The piece aired in August and again on December 26th, the day after Christmas."


She was incredulous. You'd thought she'd met the Pope himself. She continued to insist that wasn't me, but finally gave up after Kathy reassurred her it was me. She kept calling me the "best celebrity she'd met in DC." "Hardly," I said. "I'm just somebody who bought a lighthouse at an auction and fixed it up. What a funny experience.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page