top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKeeper

The Beginning

Updated: Sep 24, 2020

Many people ask me if I always wanted to own a lighthouse. The answer is, “No.” In fact, I didn’t even think about owning a lighthouse until 2009. But I have always had a passion for historic properties and even took a class in college called “Introduction to Construction,” so I could learn more about old buildings. But it still wasn’t my interest in historic preservation that ultimately led me to buy the Fairport Harbor West Lighthouse in Fairport Harbor, OH. Rather, it was a desire to find the perfect summer home, away from the hustle and bustle – and summer heat – of Washington, DC, where I make my living and have for the past 30+ years. So when I heard the federal government was auctioning off old lighthouses no longer needed to house Coast Guard personnel, I thought, “what a perfect summer home.”


The National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act of 2000 (NHLPA), an amendment to the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, provides a mechanism for the disposal of federally-owned historic light stations. It also recognizes the “cultural, recreational and educational value associated with historic light station properties” and makes these properties initially available at no cost to federal agencies, state and local governments, community and nonprofit organizations. If none of these entities steps forward, the General Services Administration (GSA) offers a small number of the lighthouses annually to the general public via an online auction.


In 2009, I viewed several lighthouses that I thought would fit the bill for a perfect summer getaway. However, the size of Fairport Harbor West (over 3,000 sq ft), its location in the beautiful Mentor Headlands State Park, and proximity to the village of Fairport Harbor, made it my top choice. When the auction began in 2009, I registered as a bidder and hoped for the best. Unfortunately, it was not to be and I was outbid. However, given the hefty requirements of ownership – including procuring insurance and executing a lease with the Army Corps of Engineers who own and maintain the platform upon which it sits -- the winning bidder defaulted returning the property to GSA.

The lighthouse went back up for auction in 2010 – and the same thing happened – the winning bidder again defaulted. Finally, in 2011, GSA amended the requirements of the online auction process to state that if the winning bidder defaults, first right of refusal will then go to the 2nd highest bidder.

In 2011, the winning bidder AGAIN defaulted, but as the 2nd highest bidder that time, I was offered the right to purchase the property and quickly said “Yes.” Thus began my love affair with Northeast Ohio, Lake County, Fairport Harbor and my quest to restore the property to its original grandeur and create for myself the “ultimate” summer home.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page