top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKeeper

Meeting Amazing People

There’s nothing like owning a lighthouse when it comes to meeting a lot of new and interesting people.  Whether they arrive for a scheduled tour, stalk you on Facebook, or are just out walking the beach, many complete strangers are now cherished friends.

 

One of my best friends in Ohio, Connie, I met in an unusual way.  I was at the lighthouse in the early days, cleaning, painting and generally working hard to get the building somewhat livable.  As I was sweeping away, I heard this voice outside yelling “Hey, what are you doing in there?”  Curious, I walked to the front door to see who was yelling. It turns out, my now friend, Connie, had been out paddling in a kayak, saw that the door was open, and pulled up to the break wall dragging her kayak onto the rocks. 

 

We began a conversation about my buying the lighthouse, her working for Lake Metroparks, and all things happening in and around Fairport Harbor.  I thoroughly enjoyed her bubbly personality and boundless energy – not to mention her prowess plying the waters of Lake Erie.  As we finished our conversation and she’d had a look around the lighthouse, she said, “If you ever need volunteers…” And boy did I! In addition to being a fabulous volunteer (I’ve never seen anyone paint ceilings as fast as she can), she has become a dear friend.

 


Connie after painting the service level door.

 

Another time, I was sitting at the island working on my laptop and I heard a voice outside. A woman was standing at the bottom of the stairs saying “Hello, hello, anyone home?”  Getting up from my computer, I walked outside to see her look up at me and say, “Are you a Pi Phi?” (my sorority membership in college). I quizzically answered “Yes,” and she shouted back, “So am I!”  The conversation ensued from there and while we did not go to the same college, we were in the same sorority.

 

Her name was Nancy and I just had to invite her in. It was a very strange way to meet, but we quickly found out that we had a lot in common – including one of her Ohio University sorority sisters whom I knew from Northern Virginia. When I asked how she knew I was a Pi Phi, she said she had seen a video tour of the lighthouse and in one shot was a pillow with the Greek letters, ΠBΦ.

 

Nancy and I have stayed friends and later that summer, she brought a group of her Ohio friends to tour the lighthouse – two of whom were Pi Phis. I have now become friends with the other Pi Phis, Meg and Jane. In 2023, I spent time with Meg at our sorority convention in Phoenix and this summer (2024), Jane came to the lighthouse with her boyfriend, Pete, and Nancy’s husband, Jim, (Nancy was out of town) to watch the fireworks.   

 


Jane, Meg, me and Nancy with the Pi Phi pillow.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page